top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Bruen

Officially a Galway Girl

If you couldn't tell by my fun photo or title for this blog post... I went to the Cliffs of Moher and Galway this weekend!! So beautiful... but more on that later. I just can't believe it's already February! Time is flying and I feel like I have only seen a fraction of the country. Ellen and I worked on some trip planning this past week but still have to book tickets and confirm plans.. haha!


School: My classes have been going really well so far, and I've finally started a weekly routine. This week was the first time I met with the clubs and societies that I signed up for last week. On Tuesday night, I went to the weekly Rock Wall Climbing for the Mountaineering Club and then headed to my first session of Christian Union. Rock wall climbing was super fun, and I am really excited to see where this new found joy for climbing will take me. Christian Union was so amazing. I met another exchange student who joined CU and we hit it off right away! We even decided to join the same small group together. CU consisted of a time for worship and a short message. Overall a great time! I am so thankful that I have found such a great community of other Christians to encourage me and help me grow in my faith. On Wednesday, I had my first small group session. I really enjoy my group and am looking forward to more Bible based discussions with them! Right now, I am thinking about joining the Badminton club with my friend Ciara, but we have yet to join... hopefully we will join by next week!


Tourist Fun: This past weekend I headed to Galway with a few of my good friends. It was such a blast, and I cannot wait to go back to the West coast of Ireland! SO much beauty! On Friday, we rode the train to Galway ( I love train rides, so this was like one of the best parts for me!!) and checked into our very nice and accommodating hostel. We had dinner at Fat Freddy's then ended the night at 1520, a bar in the city centre that has great live music! Saturday consisted of a long tour around Galway and the Cliffs of Moher. We drove around the coast which was absolutely beautiful. To say I took a lot of photos would be an understatement.... just ask Ciara (a.k.a. my personal photographer). It was a long day, but totally worth it!! After recuperating from the tour, a few of us went to the city centre to explore the night life. Ciara, Ellen and I ended up at a bar called Busker Browne's where we met a few Irish guys which was really fun! After a quick stop to McDonald's (I know, I know, who goes to McDonald's in Ireland?!) for some ice cream, we started walking back to the hostel. Ciara started talking to a girl in the street about the night life in Galway, and she said she could get us into a club for free. So naturally, the deal finders we are, we went to the club! This was my first time ever in a club and it was actually quite nice... other than the music. Not my cup of tea to say the least. While at the club, we met a group of Americans and chatted with them for a while. One of them was from the Midwest which was sooo cool. Most of the Americans I meet are either from the East coast or California, so it was very refreshing to meet a fellow Midwesternite (is that even a real term?? I don't know.. ) Sunday was really relaxing as we walked around Galway window shopping and chatting. I unfortunately couldn't find an Irish sweater while we were there... there were WAY too many choices, and we all know how indecisive I am!! I did get a super cute hat and ring though, so that's was a win! The train ride back was very relaxing, I read, slept and listened to ABBA. A great combination if I do say so myself.


Something New: My something new for this week would have to be joining all the clubs and attending my first small group! What a great way to start the semester! Oh yeah, I also attempted to make a vegetable soup, but it didn't turn out too well. Maybe I should drop this apparent "soup cleanse" I'm on and try something else?? :) If you have any ah-mazing stove top recipes, please send them my way!!


What I've Learned This Week: This week I have learned the importance of community and having encouraging and supportive people around you. After attending CU and small group, I could tell that I was feeling very depleted in my faith, and that I had not been obedient to God and his plan for my life. My new CU pals poured their love on me this week and encouraged me to continue my life as a disciple for Christ. I didn't realize how much I was missing this kind of a community until I went to CU on Tuesday. I am so thankful for the opportunity to be here at UCD, and I cannot wait to see what else God has in store for me while I'm here.


Also, I heard that my photos are a bit hard to find, so if you click on the drop down menu that is displayed on the top left corner of the screen, you should be able to click photos and find them. If not, I will eventually put a folder on Facebook with loads of pictures from my trips!


*Weekly Tea Trivia: The tea plant is an evergreen which can reach a height of over 20 feet if left to grow in the wild.


Cheers,

Anna

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page