top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Bruen

Cork & Carnivals


School: As I am coming to an end of this week, I realized that I only have 3 more classes left at UCD… how crazy?! For some reason, I get almost two weeks off to prepare for exams which is unheard of at ISU! I am definitely soaking in this extra time off and studying as much as my non-motivated self will allow. But don’t worry, I work way harder when I realize I only have a limited time left to get something done/study for an exam. So, I should be okay… or at least that’s what I keep telling my mom!


Tourist Fun: This past weekend I had the opportunity to go to Cork with some of my friends. We left early Saturday morning to spend the day in Cork and left Sunday evening. On Saturday, we went to some flea markets, antique shops and a few of us did the 5 mile castle and coastal walk on the outskirts of the city centre while the rest walked around the city centre. It was so refreshing to get to stroll along the sea. It was probably one of my favorite parts of Cork. After the walk, we all met back up at The Cork Arms and ordered some fish and chips from The Fish Wifery across the street. It was such a neat set up, the fish and chip place delivered straight to the pub! At the pub, we listened to several great songs on the juke box, chowed down on some fish and chips and enjoyed our drinks! I got a half pint of Beamish, and I actually really enjoyed it. I think I am finally getting used to the taste of stout. Of course, it takes me about 2 ½ months to get used to the iconic drink in Ireland… typical Anna. On Sunday morning, we took a Paddywagon tour to Blarney Castle and the seaside village of Cobh (pronounced “Cove”). Blarney was really fun, and I enjoyed getting to explore more of the gardens. The constant drizzle of rain put a slight damper on the day, though the castle looked striking against the grey stormy skies. Due to the rain, the obvious next stop was the Blarney Woollen Mills to dry off and warm up before the next leg of the journey. I seriously love this store. Irish sweaters are THE greatest. After boarding the bus, we headed down to Cobh to get lunch and explore the seaside town. We went to the Cobh Cathedral, and it was absolutely breathtaking! SO beautiful and perfectly placed on the top of the hill among many colorful houses. We spent the rest of the time walking around Cobh and enjoying the scenery. Back in Cork, we went to an antique store and a flea market that we visited the day before. I was really thinking about buying a cottage shaped tea pot there, but I couldn’t quite commit! So, the hunt is still on for an Irish tea pot. We caught the train back to Dublin around 5:30 and spent the rest of the train ride in silence due to our fatigue from the long day!



In front of the Cobh Cathedral and the colorful houses!


Something New: This week my something new has to be riding a bull at the carnival on campus! The residence committee put together a carnival that had free food, rides and a mechanical bull! It was SO fun!! I think I should really consider becoming a professional bull rider! It was such a fun way to relieve the stress from school and have fun with great friends! While at the carnival, I tried Korean Barbeque for the first time. I had beef with rice, cabbage, kale, spinach and some sort of sweet potato side. It was delicious! I even used chopsticks to eat the entire meal. I will be a chop stick pro by the time I get home!



Korean Barbeque!




What I’ve Learned This Week: This week in small group we talked about sharing the gospel and different ways to do it. From this discussion, I realized the importance of our actions and how simple acts can be such a light for Jesus. We must praise Jesus any and every time we talk about him – whether the person you’re telling knows him or not. It is so important to share his glory and grace with others and also share why we love him so much! From this discussion, I was encouraged to understand that only the Holy Spirit can change a person’s heart. I often feel dejected and discouraged after telling someone about Jesus and not seeing a response from that discussion. While it is essential to tell people about the Gospel, it is important to trust God and pray for the Holy Spirit to change that person’s heart. Also, I just realized today that this was my last ever small group with my CU friends… how sad! SO thankful for each of them and their encouraging and loving words. They will be dearly missed!



Cobh!

* Weekly Tea Trivia:The natural antibacterial properties found in tea, can help boost the immune system – perfect for the changing climate and winters.


Cheers, Anna

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page